World Economic Forum: What are the 5 millions of jobs threatened by the 4th industrial revolution?

WEF5 million jobs destroyed on the 2015-2020 period, that is the figure clash of the study “The Future of Jobs / Employment, Skills and Workforce Strategy for the Fourth Industrial Revolution” that has just released the World Economic Forum. The 4th Industrial Revolution is the central theme of the 2016 of the Davos Summit. It looks rough for many categories of employees but is not in the industry itself that the impact will be greatest.

The 4th revolution: the nightmare of the office worker

Net-employment-outlook-by-job-familyThe account is is not. Economists who argue that the next industrial revolution, that of the digital, robotics, artificial intelligence will generate more jobs in new sectors that will destroy in traditional businesses will be able to respond to the report of the World Economic Forum. This “diruption” or uberisation of our economies will destroy jobs. While new technologies will create jobs, lots of jobs, it is true, but those who will be replaced by algorithms, mobile applications or robots will be many more. Over the period terribly short 2015-2020, 2 million jobs will be created as opposed to 7.1 million jobs destroyed a negative balance of 5.1 million jobs worldwide. Surprise, what the study shows, is that it is not the workers who pay the highest price of this rapid transformation of our economy. The 7.1 million threatened jobs, 4.7 million are administrative positions and office jobs. In plants, it is 1.6 million jobs that will disappear and approximately 500,000 in the construction industry and mining (mining and energy)

The mobile, Cloud and the Big Data, main engines of change

Drivers-of-changeIf robots are often pointed out as the gravediggers of jobs, only 9% of managers; interviewed class Robotics as the factor number 1 of transformation of their activity. The impact of the mobile is considered much more important. It is cited by 34% of managers compared with 26% who rely on Big Data and 22% new energies. Visibly still unknown, the potential of the Internet of things is mentioned by only 14% of respondents. About artificial Intelligence, discipline which is probably the most fantasies, is cited by only 7% of managers.

The place of the France threatened by this new industrial revolution

Baxter-ManufacturingIn this transformation, companies will take the ascendancy over the other, countries will take better advantage of these new technologies and this upheaval of the the labour market than others.
This game, the France might suffer more than its neighbours. Jobs will be created in the computer sector, in the offices of architect or engineering, however many sectors will be affected by this new wave of modernization. Shopping, clerical, administrative, workers, personnel management but also the finance and legal sectors will see their numbers melt. A diagnosis alarming especially if compared to that of the Germany. Jobs there will be destroyed among the administrative posts, finance and even in factories, but the balance will be positive commercial, transportation and logistics, and of course, computing. If the French economy demonstrated a certain dynamism of the side of his startups, most traditional businesses may well have trouble to cross this new industrial revolution without a case.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “The Future of Jobs / Employment, Skills and Workforce Strategy for the Fourth Industrial Revolution”, World Economic Forum report, January 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé. Bookmark the permalink.

World Economic Forum : Quels sont les 5 millions d’emplois menacés par la 4e révolution industrielle ?

WEF5 millions d’emplois détruits sur la période 2015-2020, c’est le chiffre choc de l’étude « The Future of Jobs / Employment, Skills and Workforce Strategy for the Fourth Industrial Revolution » que vient de publier le World Economic Forum. La 4e Révolution industrielle est le thème central de l’édition 2016 du sommet de Davos. Celle-ci s’annonce rude pour bon nombre de catégories de salariés mais ce n’est pas dans l’industrie elle-même que l’impact sera le plus fort.

La 4e révolution : le cauchemar de l’employé de bureau

Net-employment-outlook-by-job-familyLe compte n’est est pas. Les économistes qui affirment que la prochaine révolution industrielle, celle du digital, de la robotique, de l’intelligence artificielle permettra de générer plus d’emploi dans les nouveaux secteur qu’elle n’en détruira dans les entreprises traditionnelles vont pouvoir réagir à ce rapport du World Economic Forum. Cette « diruption » ou uberisation de nos économies va détruire des emplois. Certes les nouvelles technologies vont créer des emplois, beaucoup d’emplois, c’est vrai, mais ceux qui seront remplacés par des algorithmes, des applications mobiles ou des robots seront bien plus nombreux. Sur la période terriblement courte 2015-2020, 2 millions d’emplois vont être créés contre 7,1 millions de postes détruits, soit un solde négatif de 5,1 millions d’emplois au niveau mondial. Surprise, ce que montre l’étude, c’est que ce ne sont pas les ouvriers qui paieront le plus lourd tribut de cette transformation rapide de notre économie. Sur les 7,1 millions d’emplois menacés, 4,7 millions seront des emplois des postes administratifs et de bureau. Dans les usines, ce sont 1,6 million d’emplois qui vont disparaître et près de 500 000 dans le secteur de la construction et l’extraction (minière et d’énergie)

Le mobile, le Cloud et le Big Data, principaux moteurs du changement

Drivers-of-changeSi les robots sont souvent pointés du doigt comme les fossoyeurs des emplois, seulement 9% des responsables d’entreprise ; interrogés classe la robotique comme le facteur numéro 1 de  transformation de leur activité. L’impact du mobile est jugé bien plus important. Il est cité par 34% des responsables, contre 26% qui misent sur le Big Data et 22% les nouvelles énergies. Visiblement encore méconnu, le potentiel de l’Internet des objets n’est évoqué que par 14% des répondants. Quant à l’Intelligence artificielle, la discipline qui suscite probablement le plus de fantasmes, n’est cité que par 7% des responsables. L’impression 3D est encore plus méconnue : seuls 6% des répondants l’ont classé en tête des facteurs de changement.

La place de la France menacée par cette nouvelle révolution industrielle

Dans cette transformation, des entreprises vont prendre l’ascendant sur les autres, des pays tireront mieux profit de ces nouvelles technologies et de ce bouleversement du marché du travail que d’autres.Baxter-Manufacturing
A ce jeu, la France pourrait bien souffrir davantage que ses voisins. Des emplois seront créés dans le secteur informatique, dans les cabinets d’architecte ou en engineering, par contre de nombreux secteurs seront touchés de plein fouet par cette nouvelle vague de modernisation. Commerces, employés de bureau, administratifs, ouvriers, personnel de gestion mais aussi les secteurs de  la finance et du juridique vont voir leurs effectifs fondre. Un diagnostic alarmant surtout si on le compare à celui de l’Allemagne. Des emplois y seront détruits parmi les postes administratifs, la finance et même dans les usines, mais le solde sera positifs chez les commerciaux, les transports et la logistique et, bien évidemment, l’informatique. Si l’économie française fait preuve d’un dynamisme certain du côté de ses startups, les entreprises plus traditionnelles risquent d’avoir bien du mal à traverser cette nouvelle révolution industrielle sans casse.

Source : « The Future of Jobs / Employment, Skills and Workforce Strategy for the Fourth Industrial Revolution », Rapport du World Economic Forum, Janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.