WPC 2014 Microsoft bet on the Internet of Things

Satya-Nadella---PDG-de-MicrosoftWhile Microsoft through the largest with 18,000 job cuts announced, the publisher is holding its annual partner conference in Washington. Satya Nadella, the new CEO presented are the Mobile First / Cloud-First strategy to enable the publisher to ensure its future, but he also spent part of his opening keynote at the Internet of Things. An opportunity as it presents itself every ten years, as noted by the CEO. Microsoft hopes to train its partners on this lucrative market and he has a gun to their offer: Intelligent Systems Azure Service.

A market of nearly 2,000 billion in 2014 and will double by 2018

1.930 billion in 2014, 4.930 billion in 2018, this is the IDC study (Source: Internet of things Guide Spending by Vertical Market, IDC 2014) Microsoft has dangled its partners at all sessions dedicated to the Internet of Things for the 2014 edition of the WPC. The publisher relies on SSII to impose its Azure platform in multiple industries that are in theater connected objects. The publisher has delivered more details about Azure Service Intelligent Systems, the platform dedicated to the Internet of Things. The event was also the occasion of the first projects unveiled in production on this Azure ISS, yet in beta for 3 months only.

The first Azure ISS applications already in production

The maintenance application developed for the London Underground.

The maintenance application developed for the London Underground.

During his keynote, to better convince its partners, Satya Nadella has unveiled one of the first projects that exploit the Azure platform Intelligent Systems Service. It is led by a CGI Avanade and on behalf of ThyssenKrupp and Rockwell Automation project. The platform handles the data transmitted by the sensors placed in the elevator of the mark. A typical application of preventive maintenance. But it is not this application won the award for best “Intelligent Systems” application, but the London Underground. Again, this maintenance, again it is deployed by a CGI application. It collects the data from the sensors (temperature, vibration) placed on escalators stations. The ISS platform historizes the data used to correlate the information with information from external sources. The information goes on the shelves of maintenance staff and analyzes are available through Powerview reports. The rate of troubleshooting the first response would be increased from 42% to 86% since the deployment of the application.

ISS, the workhorse of the Microsoft “IoyT”

The portfolio of Microsoft services dedicated to the Internet of Things.

The portfolio of Microsoft services dedicated to the Internet of Things.

The portfolio of Microsoft services dedicated to the Internet of Things.

The portfolio of Microsoft services dedicated to the Internet of Things.

To explain the positioning of Microsoft in this market of the Internet of Things, marketing Redmond broke his head, inventing IoyT acronym for “Internet of Things your”. Fortunately, the engineers of the editor were more inspired. Intelligent Systems Azure Service wants a horizontal platform that can theoretically be exploited as for industrial applications, e-Health, Retail, etc.. Microsoft partners to create vertical applications. According to the product manager, ISS is an “end to end” platform, which is based on the Azure Cloud, will create scalable applications. “Starting small and scaling big,” she has said. More specifically, Intelligent Systems Azure Service is composed of 3 parts. The first concerns the devices. Microsoft ensures that its platform is heterogeneous, both in terms of operating systems protocols. An agent library is available for Windows, Linux, Android and iOS devices, gateways can repatriate objects connected data less “intelligent”. Partners to develop agents for the most exotic objects.
Second part of the Microsoft offer, the backend. This is obviously the Azure Cloud, which offers bus services data, Complex Event processing, data storage and security. The offer goes far enough because the analysis and visualization PowerBI bricks are part of the platform.
The third stage of the rocket ISS is the web portal. SDK will allow integrators to create a frontend tailor-made for their clients.
Furthermore CGI, Infosys and Cognizant had their first productions this week in Washington. Not bad for a platform in beta stage for three months only. Microsoft has certainly scored a point on this booming market of IoT platforms.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in M2M, Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

WPC 2014 : Microsoft mise sur l’Internet des objets

Satya-Nadella---PDG-de-MicrosoftAlors que Microsoft traverse la plus grosse avec 18.000 suppressions de postes annoncées, l’éditeur tient sa conférence partenaires annuelle à Washington. Satya Nadella, le nouveau PDG y a présenté la stratégie Mobile-First / Cloud-First qui doit permettre à l’éditeur d’assurer son avenir mais il a aussi consacré une partie de sa keynote d’ouverture à l’Internet des Objets. Une occasion comme il ne s’en présente que tous les dix ans comme l’a souligné le PDG. Microsoft espère bien entraîner ses partenaires sur ce marché juteux et il a une arme à leur proposer : Azure Intelligent Systems Service.

Un marché de près de 2.000 milliards de dollars en 2014 et qui va doubler d’ici 2018

1.930 milliards de dollars en 2014, 4.930 milliards en 2018, c’est l’étude IDC (Source : Internet of things Spending Guide by Vertical Market, IDC 2014) que Microsoft a fait miroiter à ses partenaires lors de toutes les sessions dédiées à l’Internet des Objets pendant cette édition 2014 du WPC. L’éditeur compte sur les SSII pour imposer sa plateforme Azure sur les multiples secteurs d’activité qui seront le théâtre d’opération des objets connectés. L’éditeur a ainsi livré plus de détail sur Azure Intelligent Systems Service, sa plateforme dédié à l’Internet des objets. L’événement a aussi été l’occasion de dévoilé les premiers projets en production sur cet Azure ISS, pourtant en beta depuis 3 mois seulement.

Les premières applications Azure ISS déjà en production

L'application de maintenance développée pour le métro de Londres.

L’application de maintenance développée pour le métro de Londres.

Lors de sa keynote, afin de mieux convaincre ses partenaires, Satya Nadella a dévoilé l’un des premiers projets qui exploitent la plateforme Azure Intelligent Systems Service. Il s’agit d’un projet mené par CGI et Avanade pour le compte de ThyssenKrupp et Rockwell Automation. La plateforme traite les données émises par les capteurs placés dans les ascenseurs de la marque. Une application type de maintenance préventive. Ce n’est toutefois pas cette application qui a décroché le prix de la meilleure application « Intelligent Systems », mais celle du métro de Londres. La encore, il s’agit de maintenance, là encore il s’agit d’une application déployée par CGI. Celle-ci récolte les données des capteurs (température, vibrations) placés sur les escalators des stations. La plateforme ISS historise les données, permet de corréler les informations avec des informations issues de sources externes. L’information remonte sur les tablettes des agents de maintenance et des analyses sont disponibles via des rapports Powerview. Le taux de résolution des pannes à la première intervention serait passé de 42% à 86% depuis le déploiement de l’application.

ISS, le cheval de bataille de Microsoft pour le « IoyT »

Le porte-feuille de services Microsoft dédiés à l'Internet des objets.

Le porte-feuille de services Microsoft dédiés à l’Internet des objets.

Pour expliquer le positionnement de Microsoft sur ce marché de l’Internet des Objets, le marketing de Redmond s’est cassé la tête, inventant l’acronyme IoyT pour « Internet of your Things ». Heureusement, les ingénieurs de l’éditeur ont été plus inspirés. Azure Intelligent Systems Service se veut une plateforme horizontale, pouvant théoriquement être exploitée tant pour des applications industrielles, e-Santé, Retail, etc. Aux partenaires Microsoft de créer les applications verticales. Selon la chef de produit, ISS est une plateforme « end to end » qui, étant basée sur le Cloud Azure, va permettre de créer des applications évolutives. « Starting small and scaling big » a-t-elle précisé. Plus concrètement, Azure Intelligent Systems Service est composé de 3 volets. Le premier concerne les devices. Microsoft assure que sa plateforme est hétérogène, tant du point de vue systèmes d’exploitation que des protocoles. Une bibliothèque d’agent est disponible pour des terminaux Windows, Linux, Android et iOS, des gateways pourront rapatrier des données d’objets connectés moins « intelligents ». Aux partenaires de développer des agents pour les objets les plus exotiques.
Deuxième volet de l’offre Microsoft, le backend. Il s’agit bien évidemment du Cloud Azure, qui offre des services de bus de données, de Complex Event processing, de stockage des données, de sécurité. L’offre va assez loin puisque les briques d’analyse et de visualisation PowerBI font parties de la plateforme.
Le troisième étage de la fusée ISS, c’est le portail Web. Un SDK va permettre aux intégrateurs de créer un frontend sur-mesures pour leurs clients.
Outre CGI, Infosys et Cognizant présentaient cette semaine leurs premières réalisations à Washington. Pas si mal pour une plateforme en phase béta depuis trois mois seulement. Microsoft a incontestablement marqué un point sur ce marché en plein essor des plateformes IoT.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans M2M, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.