XTI launches crowdfunding campaign for its vertical takeoff aircraft case

XTI TriFan 600The success of Elon Musk they inspire American entrepreneurs beyond all measure? The wildest industrial projects now seem to have a chance of being realized in the United States. In this regard, the trifan 600 is pretty well placed. This 6-seater business jet is capable of flying almost as fast as a jet but is best able to land vertically on a helicopter landing area. A technical challenge but also a financial challenge that seems to have little chance of success if it is past the 4 founders of this startup.

The crowdfunding campaign XTI aimed primarily professional investors

XTI, the name of the startup that offers this business to manufacture non-standard aircraft was created by a bunch of veterans of the aviation industry. The management consists in fact of Jeffrey Pino former CEO of Sikorsky helicopter manufacturer famous, Charlie Johnson , former president of Cessna and Dennis Olcott , chief engineers who made his career at Adam Aircraft and especially at Piper where he was in charge of the program PiperJet.

Mid-plane, half-helicopter, the Trifan 600 VTOL must be built in composite materials and carbon fibers.

Mid-plane, half-helicopter, the Trifan 600 VTOL must be built in composite materials and carbon fibers.

This dream team has launched a new challenge, create a VTOL (Vertical Take-off and Landing) business aircraft. This project has not been drawn on a corner table. Their startup was born in 2012 and the team is working on this project since that time in order to launch this crowdfunding campaign with elements strong enough to convince investors. Since launching such a project to the general public would not have much sense (that can actually afford a plane?), They preferred their proposed project on StartEngine, a platform intended only for investors, rather than going on Kickstarter or Indiegogo to raise money.
XTI how he will manage to raise to fund his project, mystery. For comparison, the only service in transport aircraft currently is the Bell-Boeing V-22 Osprey military. Although bigger than Trifan 600, the Osprey can carry 24 marines in addition to its crew represented a 35.6 billion dollar program to 408 copies at a unit cost of approximately $ 72.1 million. Although smaller, the Trifan 600 must be marketed between 10 to 12 million dollars according to its designers who hope to sell 40 to 100 per year. An objective rather optimistic when the market does not yet exist and that Trifan will face AgustaWestland AW609 to a born civilized version of the Bell XV-15 demonstrator défricha for the area of ​​Osprey “tiltrotor” aircraft tiltrotor. The AW609, a bit bigger (6 places + 2 pilots) should be marketed at a price estimated at 24 million.

The Trifan 699 VTOL wants to challenge the business jets

The Trifan 600 must carry 6 people to more than 1,200 km. Other versions may emerge if successful.

The Trifan 600 must carry 6 people to more than 1,200 km. Other versions may emerge if successful.

For an unbeatable price, the Trifan 600 will be powered by two turboprop engines that will lead three turbofans, ie of ducted propellers. One of the turbofans, placed in the fuselage only be used in vertical flight in the wings while the other two turbofans switch from the horizontal to the vertical to propel the aircraft at a cruising speed of the order of 340 knots (630 km / h). This is much faster than a helicopter, but less than a business jet (the cruising speed of a Falcon 7X is 486 knots. According to its designers, the Trifan 600 will make a difference because by being able to off from their company landing area, it will prevent its passengers to go to distant airports … As for outreach, it will be between 1200 km and 2000 km, depending on the load and type theft (vertical take-off or not).

the founders of XTI he will manage to carry out a project as ambitious with funding out of crowdfunding and especially without funding from the Pentagon? This will be the real revolution of this Trifan 600.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“VTOL Business Aircraft Project Takes Crowdfunding Route”, Aviation Week, August 31, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

XTI lance une campagne de crowdfunding pour son avion d’affaire à décollage vertical

XTI TriFan 600Les succès d’Elon Musk inspirent-ils les entrepreneurs américains au delà de toute mesure ? Les projets industriels les plus fous semblent aujourd’hui avoir une chance de se réaliser aux Etats-Unis. Sur ce plan, le TriFan 600 est plutôt bien placé. Cet avion d’affaire de 6 places est capable de voler presque aussi vite qu’un jet mais il est surtout capable de se poser verticalement, sur une aire d’atterrissage d’hélicoptère. Un défit technique mais aussi un défi financier qui semble avoir bien peu de chances d’aboutir si ce n’est le passé des 4 fondateurs de cette startup.

La campagne de crowdfunding de XTI vise en priorité les investisseurs professionnels

XTI, le nom de la startup qui propose de fabriquer cet avion d’affaire hors-normes a été créée par une brochette de vétérans de l’industrie aéronautique. La direction se compose en effet de Jeffrey Pino ancien PDG de Sikorsky, célèbre constructeur d’hélicoptères, de Charlie Johnson, ancien président de Cessna et de Dennis Olcott, l’ingénieurs en chef qui a fait sa carrière chez Adam Aircraft et surtout chez Piper où il a été en charge du programme PiperJet.

Mi-avion, mi-hélicoptère, le VTOL Trifan 600 doit être construit en matériaux composites et fibres de carbone.

Mi-avion, mi-hélicoptère, le VTOL Trifan 600 doit être construit en matériaux composites et fibres de carbone.

Cette équipe de choc s’est donc lancé un nouveau défi, créer un avion d’affaire VTOL (Vertical Take-off and Landing aircraft), c’est à dire à décollage vertical. Ce projet n’a pas été dessiné sur un coin de table. Leur startup est née en 2012 et l’équipe travaille sur ce projet depuis ce moment afin de pouvoir lancer cette campagne de crowdfunding avec des éléments suffisamment solide pour convaincre les investisseurs. Comme lancer un tel projet auprès du grand public n’aurait pas tellement de sens (qui peut réellement s’offrir un avion ?), ils ont préféré proposé leur projet sur la plateforme StartEngine, destinée uniquement aux investisseurs, plutôt que d’aller sur Kickstarter ou Indiegogo pour lever de l’argent.

Combien XTI parviendra-t-il à lever pour financer son projet, mystère. A titre de comparaison, le seul avion de transport en service actuellement est le Boeing-Bell V-22 Osprey militaire. Bien plus gros que le Trifan 600, l’Osprey peut transporter 24 marines en plus de son équipage a représenté un programme de 35.6 milliards de dollars pour 408 exemplaires pour un coût unitaire d’environ 72,1 millions de dollars. Bien plus petit, le Trifan 600 doit être commercialisé entre 10 à 12 millions de dollars selon ses concepteurs qui espèrent en vendre de 40 à 100 par an. Un objectif plutôt optimiste alors que ce marché n’existe pas encore et que le Trifan va devoir faire face à l’AgustaWestland AW609, une version civilisée née du démonstrateur Bell XV-15 qui défricha pour l’Osprey le domaine du « tiltrotor », l’avion à rotors basculants. L’AW609, un peu plus gros (6 places + 2 pilotes), doit être commercialisé à un prix estimé à 24 million de dollars.

Le Trifan 699 VTOL veut défier les jets d’affaire

Le Trifan 600 doit emporter 6 personnes à plus de 1.200 km. D'autres versions pourraient voir le jour en cas de succès.

Le Trifan 600 doit emporter 6 personnes à plus de 1.200 km. D’autres versions pourraient voir le jour en cas de succès.

Pour un prix défiant toute concurrence, le Trifan 600 va être propulsé par 2 turbopropulseurs qui vont entraîner 3 turbofans, c’est à dire des hélices carénées. L’un des turbofans, placé dans le fuselage ne sera utilisé qu’en vol vertical tandis que dans les ailes les 2 autres turbofans basculent de l’horizontale vers la verticale pour propulser l’avion à une vitesse de croisière de l’ordre de  340 noeuds (630 km/h). C’est bien plus rapide qu’un hélicoptère, mais moins qu’un jet d’affaire (la vitesse de croisière d’un Falcon 7X est de 486 noeuds. Selon ses concepteurs, le Trifan 600 fera la différence car en étant capable de décoller depuis l’aire d’atterrissage de leur entreprise, il évitera à ses passagers d’aller dans les aéroports lointains… Quant au rayon d’action, il sera compris entre 1.200 km et 2.000 km, selon la charge et le type de vol (décollage vertical ou pas).

les fondateurs d’XTI parviendront-il à mener un projet aussi ambitieux à bien grâce au financement du crowdfunding et surtout sans financements du Pentagone ? Ce sera là la véritable révolution de ce Trifan 600.

Sources :

« VTOL Business Aircraft Project Takes Crowdfunding Route », Aviation Week, 31 août 2015
 « XTI Aircraft Company Launches Equity Crowdfunding Campaign as Part of Overall Financing Plan to Develop Revolutionary Vertical Takeoff Airplane », Communiqué de presse XTI, 25 août 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.